The 2018 Bristol Short Story Prize is open for entries. The competition is open to all writers around the world whether published or unpublished, UK or non-UK based.

20 stories will be shortlisted and published in Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 11. The winner and 2 runners up will be selected from the shortlist and announced at an awards ceremony which will be held in Bristol Central Library on October 13th 2018.

1st prize is £1,000, 2nd prize is £700, 3rd prize is £400. 17 further prizes of £100 will be presented to the remaining shortlisted writers. All shortlisted writers will receive 2 free copies of the anthology. Prizes will be sent to any writer on the shortlist who is unable to attend the awards ceremony.

The judging panel will be chaired by literary agent, Kate Johnson.
Kate is joined on the panel by editor, Lucy Cowie, and writers Roshi Fernando and Polly Ho-Yen.


The closing date for entries is midnight (BST) May 1st 2018. The maximum word limit is 4,000, there is no minimum. Stories may be on any theme or subject and entry can be made online or by post. There is an £8.00 entry fee for all stories submitted and entries must be previously unpublished.

For full details and rules on the 2018 Bristol Short Story Prize please click here.

Previous Winner:

The 2017 Bristol Short Story Prize was won by Dima Alzayat (left) for her story, Ghusl. 2nd prize went to Chetna Maroo, and a joint third prize was awarded to Bunmi Ogunsiji and Meg Tuite. 

For news of more opportunities from around the world, follow Stefn Sylvester Anyatonwu on:
Twitter: @stefnsylvester
Instagram:  @stefnsylvester

Facebook Page: Stefn Sylvester Anyatonwu

 Credits: Bristol Prize